©ALL CONTENT OF THIS WEBSITE IS COPYRIGHTED AND CANNOT BE REPRODUCED WITHOUT THE ADMINISTRATORS CONSENT 2003-2020

work options

aon1

AnaSCI VET / Donating Member
Dec 10, 2013
dark side of Olympus
I have no doubt this thread will go nowhere but worth a shot.....it kinda goes with Sully's thread but didn't want to high jack his.......

What kind of work could a guy with skills and ability to learn about anything get into that would keep him and his family traveling all the time.....sorta working so your family can be on permanent vacation.....doesn't have to be a get rich deal just a non stop vacation with fair living wage?

Needs to be able to cover med expenses and college one day for the kids.....I just don't believe in the free ride welfare so I need to cover a few things with the work but don't have to live like a king at all.......

chicken_hawk

AnaSCI VIP
Feb 2, 2013
I have no experience with either and I am not sure about a permanent vacation but working for the rail road pays well and is like 2 weeks on and one off or a commercial contracting. Like guys who build Applebees and so forth. You wont get rich but they compensate you because your always traveling.

Hawk

aon1

Dec 10, 2013
dark side of Olympus
I've never thought about traveling construction like that with the chain builderz.......I've been on job sights since I was walking ......kind of got burnt out on it and went different directions may have look again......thanks hawk got me thinking again

Keep em coming I've got to do something shortly

Magnus82

Banned
Oct 29, 2012
Out in the boondocks
Without schooling limits your options a bit. I agree with hawk, you could get on a chain crew. I've done many chain builds where they just send a supervisor and hire local subs. Landing one of these may be something to consider. Cool thing is if they finish before the deadline, the rest of the time is off till the next scheduled build.

AnaSCI

ADMINISTRATOR
Sep 17, 2003