©ALL CONTENT OF THIS WEBSITE IS COPYRIGHTED AND CANNOT BE REPRODUCED WITHOUT THE ADMINISTRATORS CONSENT 2003-2020

such thing as too much protein??

hetfield

Sep 9, 2006
i'm a nurse and work 12 hour shifts, so i'm always going with protein shakes through the day, all the nurses i work with are always telling me , "your hurting your kidneys, your taking in too much protein". i drink plenty of water during the day , so my question is this , Is there such a thing of taking in to much protein? I'm 6 3" and 205 and take in about 400 gms protein daily, workout mon, wed, fri. Could somebody shed some light on this subject for me,

also i found the article below at
http://www.illpumpyouup.com/articles/other-resources.htm

Beware of Eating Too Much Protein

Protein is an essential nutrient, and is vital to your health. It is used to build muscles, skin, hair and nails. However, many people put their health at risk by eating too much protein.

The typical American diet already provides plenty of protein and there is no point in adding any more, unlike fat cells, there is no place in the body to store protein so the excess is eliminated or is seen as fat rather than muscle.

So what you need to do is to consume just enough protein to allow your muscles to be healthy, perform work and grow. But how much is just enough?

You only use protein for about 15% of your energy use, the majority of energy comes from fats and carbohydrates. Exercising doesn’t necessarily mean that you require more protein but more carbohydrates to stop your body breaking down protein and using that for energy.

Try to make sure that 70% of your protein comes from sources such as meat, fish, eggs or poultry. The complete protein provided by these foods combines with incomplete protein consumed from other food sources. So your body makes the best of all the protein that you consume.