©ALL CONTENT OF THIS WEBSITE IS COPYRIGHTED AND CANNOT BE REPRODUCED WITHOUT THE ADMINISTRATORS CONSENT 2003-2020

Career in fitness advice

silverback66

Nov 19, 2013
So I have been working with my current employer for going on 7 years now. I wouldn't necessarily call it a dead end job, because there is some room for advancement although not a whole lot. It's a physical labor/machine operator type of job and just not what I'd love to do the rest of my life. I have good insurance and benefits. Really can't complain about the job a lot other than that I could be making a little more money.. But I'm sure we all would love a bigger paycheck.

I am very passionate about fitness, bodybuilding and the diet and nutrition aspect of this world. So I have considered a career as something like a personal trainer or dietitian.. Something along the line of fitness. Possibly even going back to school and getting into sports med or something.

I'm curious to know if anyone around anasci has any advice or input to the subject. Is it worth a damn to get one of those online personal trainer certificates? Which ones are the most accredited? Is going back to school toward the field of either sports med or dietitian something that you might recommend...?

Of course I know what I'm asking can only really be based in opinion and experience, since none of you really know "what's best for me" but that's all I'm looking for. Maybe some stories of your own experiences in the field to help sway my thoughts one way or another.

Thanks guys! Have a powerful day!

tri-terror

Oct 31, 2012
I don't know what you make now, or what you hope to earn in the future, but "fitness" is hard to make decent money in.
Absolutely it can be done and you can live, but personal trainers are not making more than $30k around here and these are dudes that hustle. Dietician might be ok, but you are goimg to have to get a masters degree and work in a hospital to make anything I would consider livable.